3/13/2008

Keep DC United in DC

so DC United, Washington's great pro soccer team, hasn't yet signed a lease with the city for RFK Stadium. The plans for a new stadium at Poplar Point in DC are also sort of in limbo. I'm pretty worried about this, as I'm a United fan and would hate to see them leave.

The team is a great resource for the city, has a large, diverse, and passionate fan base, and is historically the best team in MLS, it would be a shame for them to leave. Probably one of my fondest sports memories was when David Beckham came to play - RFK Stadium was packed with people and it was a fantastic atmosphere for a sporting event.

I want the city to know that people want to keep the team in the city, so I've been emailing the city council and the mayor. Here's the mayor's contact page and the emails for the at-large councilmembers, as well as Vincent Gray, the council chair, and Jack Evans, chair pro tem/Ward 2, and the members from each ward.

Contact the Mayor page

Vincent Gray's chief of staff: DSlonneger@dccouncil.us
Jack Evans: jackevans@dccouncil.us
Phil Mendelson: pmendelson@dccouncil.us
Carol Schwartz: carol.schwartz@dc.gov
Kwame Brown: tellkwamebrown@gmail.com
David Catania doesn't have a direct email, so click here

And the councilmembers by ward:

Ward 1 - Jim Graham's chief of staff jdetaeye@dccouncil.us
Ward 2 - Jack Evans jackevans@dccouncil.us
Ward 3 - Mary Cheh mcheh@dccouncil.us
Ward 4 - Muriel Bowser mbowser@dccouncil.us
Ward 5 - Harry Thomas hthomas@dccouncil.us
Ward 6 - Tommy Jones - chief of staff callen@dccouncil.us
Ward 7 - Yvette Alexander - click here
Ward 8 - Marion Barry's chief of staff kperry@dccouncil.us

2 comments:

Remédios Buendía said...

i'm from brazil, so no worries about stadiums or
soccer teams...
unless zidane is around, of course...
good lucky... i hope that dc united can stay in your
city!

well, by the way, pavement is my favourite band! i
really love them!
teenage fanclub is probably one of my top fives... but my top five changes every month...
anyway, pavement is always there, in first place :)
i think that this week is something like pavement, yo la tengo, france gall, teenage and a brazilian girl
called mallu magalhães...
you should hear... is sweet and smart...
her myspace.com is /mallumagalhaes
she's just 15 years old!!!

i don't speak spanish (and i don't know why... is so closer to portuguese).
just a little little little of english.
oh, forgive me if said something wrong... read in
english is ok but write...speak... god save me!

IntangibleArts said...

Agreed. It would be foolish to have to truck out to PG County to catch a match. It just stinks of WRONGNESS.

I know it's probably a complex issue that mere citizens like me aren't meant to understand... but then, that's why we have city planners, mayors, councilmembers, etc., right?

I have no specific ideas on solving the stalemate, but it shouldn't matter: THEY're the brains around here, & should be coming up with a viable business plan and make it work.

Whatever it takes. Keep the team home, dammit.